Best in the Nation

Best in the Nation

Awards season.


It is our pleasure to note some Nation writers who have recently won awards for their extraordinary work.

Alexandra Schwartz received the National Book Critics Circle 2014 Nona Balakian citation for excellence in reviewing for her Nation essay “Nobody Else Sounds Like Lydia Davis,” published in the June 2, 2014, issue of the magazine.

Naomi Klein has been honored with the Izzy Award for outstanding achievement by independent journalists. The judges recognized her “landmark book This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. the Climate—as well as powerful columns in The Nation and The Guardian on topics from climate change to racism to torture.” See our October 6, 2014, issue for an excerpt from the book.

Dave Zirin, The Nation’s sports editor, has received the National Headliner Award, first place, for writing on a magazine website. His political sports coverage is unparalled and a perennial hit with Nation readers.

Lee Fang has won the National Headliner Award, third place, for magazine coverage of a major news event or topic, for his Nation investigation “The Shadow Lobbying Complex,” reported in partnership with the Investigative Fund at the Nation Institute. This exposé revealed the hidden routes by which lobbying money is entering Washington.

William Greider has won the James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism for career achievement. Previous Nation winners of the Aronson Award include JoAnn Wypijewski, Nick Turse, John Nichols, A.C. Thompson, Jeremy Scahill, and Paul Krugman. Aronson was a founder of the National Guardian newspaper and longtime professor at Hunter College.

Katha Pollitt is a finalist for the MOLLY National Journalism Prize, awarded by The Texas Observer, for selections from her “Subject to Debate” columns. The prize is named for the renowned journalist and columnist Molly Ivins and recognizes great American journalism.

Thank you for reading The Nation!

We hope you enjoyed the story you just read. It takes a dedicated team to publish timely, deeply researched pieces like this one. For over 150 years, The Nation has stood for truth, justice, and democracy. Today, in a time of media austerity, articles like the one you just read are vital ways to speak truth to power and cover issues that are often overlooked by the mainstream media.

This month, we are calling on those who value us to support our Spring Fundraising Campaign and make the work we do possible. The Nation is not beholden to advertisers or corporate owners—we answer only to you, our readers.

Can you help us reach our $20,000 goal this month? Donate today to ensure we can continue to publish journalism on the most important issues of the day, from climate change and abortion access to the Supreme Court and the peace movement. The Nation can help you make sense of this moment, and much more.

Thank you for being a supporter of independent journalism.

Ad Policy