Our Student Prizewinners | The Nation


Our Student Prizewinners

  • Share
  • Decrease text size Increase text size

We are delighted to announce the winners of The Nation’s seventh annual Student Writing Contest. This year we asked students to send us an 800-word essay detailing what they thought was the most important issue of Election 2012. We received close to 1,000 submissions from high school and college students in forty-two states. We chose one college and one high school winner and ten finalists. 

About the Author

Also by the Author

Hilary Clinton’s evolution on immigration reform is a testament to the youthful movement that erupted during the Obama era.

From signature strikes in Pakistan to police violence in Baltimore, the state is seemingly uninterested in even counting how many people it kills.

Congratulations to the winners: Andrew Giambrone, an undergraduate at Yale University, who wrote about the human costs of unemployment and argued that the economic crisis is also an existential catastrophe; and Tess Saperstein, a junior at A.W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts in West Palm Beach, Florida, who elegantly limned Susan B. Anthony’s contemporary legacy. The winners receive an award of $1,000 each; the finalists receive $200 each. All receive lifetime Nation subscriptions. 

The college finalists are: Guido Girgenti, Occidental College; Erik Lampmann, University of Richmond; Alex Ritter, Baylor University; Gabriel Schivone, Pima Community College; and Helen Yang, Princeton University. The high school finalists are Nikolas Angelopoulos, Polytechnic High School, Pasadena, California; Kathryn Davis, Claremont High School, Claremont, California; Ethan Evans, South Warren High School, Bowling Green, Kentucky; Kristy Hong, Deerfield Academy, Deerfield, Massachusetts; and Audrey Yu, Booker T. Washington High School, Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

Many thanks to all our applicants and to those who encouraged their participation. Here are links to the winning essays:
Joblessness Is the Most Important Issue of the Election, ” by Andrew Giambrone, and 
What I Owe to Radical Feminism, ” by Tess Saperstein.

Read all the winning essays at 2012TheNation.com/students (which also includes the StudentNation blog, a hub for cutting-edge journalism featuring exclusive reports on a wide range of domestic and foreign issues). 

  • Share
  • Decrease text size Increase text size