Books & the Arts

The Sri Lankan Patients The Sri Lankan Patients

This time none of that lollygagging elusiveness that began The English Patient.

Jun 1, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Tom LeClair

To Catch a Thief To Catch a Thief

As Woody Allen awoke one morning from uneasy dreams, he found himself transformed in his bed into Jackie Gleason.

Jun 1, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Stuart Klawans

In Our Orbit In Our Orbit

Witness to History The End of the Peace Process:

May 25, 2000 / Books & the Arts / The Editors

Author, Author! Author, Author!

"There are more than a million writers in the United States and they write more than 500,000 books each year, 90% of which never see publication.

May 25, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Art Winslow

When the CIA Was the NEA When the CIA Was the NEA

In June 1948 George Kennan, director of the State Department's policy planning staff, drafted National Security Directive NSC-10/2.

May 25, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Michael P. Rogin

How We Made the Balkans How We Made the Balkans

When the Pulitzer prizes were announced in April, surprisingly none of the hundreds of journalists covering the war in the Balkans last year were among the winners.

May 25, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Dusko Doder

Brands ‘R’ Us? Brands ‘R’ Us?

Jeremy Rifkin wants to rock the world of the jaded reader: He predicts that we're entering a completely new--the final--stage of capitalism.

May 25, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Jane Slaughter

Harrington’s Dilemma Harrington’s Dilemma

Maurice Isserman's The Other American: The Life of Michael Harrington evokes and will enrich the legacy of the last great American socialist in the tradition of Eugene Debs and N...

May 25, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Tom Hayden

The Troves of Academe The Troves of Academe

"A university," poet John Ciardi acidly observed, "is what a college becomes when the faculty loses interest in students." Add this contemporary counterpunch: A college is what a...

May 25, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Carlin Romano

Sartre’s Roads to Freedom Sartre’s Roads to Freedom

Asked where he was coming from, my friend's son replied, "From the demo against the death of Sartre." It was April 19, 1980, and the definition fitted perfectly, for Sartre's fun...

May 18, 2000 / Books & the Arts / Daniel Singer

x