Help

Nation Topics - Books and the Arts

Topic Page

Nation Topics - Books and the Arts

Subsections:

Arts and Entertainment Books and Ideas

Articles

News and Features

Maurice Isserman's The Other American: The Life of Michael Harrington evokes and will enrich the legacy of the last great American socialist in the tradition of Eugene Debs and Norman Thom

"A university," poet John Ciardi acidly observed, "is what a college becomes when the faculty loses interest in students." Add this contemporary counterpunch: A college is what a university becom

Asked where he was coming from, my friend's son replied, "From the demo against the death of Sartre." It was April 19, 1980, and the definition fitted perfectly, for Sartre's funeral, attended by

You will recall that when Augie March went to Mexico, he hooked up with an eagle, which he called Caligula.

To watch Lars von Trier's The Idiots is to see a dead dog rise and howl at the moon.

According to Gibbon, the emperor Commodus spent the early years of his reign "in a seraglio of three hundred beautiful women and as many boys, of every rank and of every province." Later, adding

"You have no idea how much love I got for this," says David Jamil Muhammad, referring to his role as a student organizer of "Hip-Hop Generation--Hip-Hop as a Movement." The conference was held Ap

Perhaps one of the most fatuous theories ever promulgated was Francis Fukuyama's "End of History," put forth just as, in most parts of the world, history resumed its sanguinary progress as soon a

I was watching Mike Tyson knock Robert Downey Jr. to the floor when the thought popped into my head, "Is this what I want from a movie?" It was a pressing question.

With the twenty-fifth anniversary of the American withdrawal from Vietnam hard upon us, readers and viewers may well be treated to a multitude of reprises of the arguments surrounding the war and

Blogs

From the self-portraits in the shower, to his portrait of Putin, the paintings are amateurish—street-fair quality at best—but that hardly halted the media orgy. 

April 17, 2014

Years of Living Dangerously will make you boiling mad about the climate calamity that awaits us in the twenty-first century.  

April 15, 2014

Conservatives see the selection of Colbert as the next host of The Late Show as proof of liberal media bias. 

April 11, 2014

How Mickey Rooney’s Puck in A Midsummer Night’s Dream changed Vidal’s life.

April 7, 2014

How the cowardice of Viking Penguin kept the author’s In The Spirit of Crazy Horse out of print for seven years

April 7, 2014

An excerpt from When Hollywood Turned Left, Greg Mitchell’s new e-book about the first modern campaign to secretly raise massive amounts of money.

April 6, 2014

Naturally, J. Edgar Hoover, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and Senator Richard Russell all put in appearances.

April 2, 2014

“The Interweb tried to swallow me whole,” said Colbert. “But I am proud to say that I got lodged in its throat and it hacked me back up, like a hastily chewed chicken wing.”

April 1, 2014

Actors and actresses were long known for contract disputes and sex scandals, not social activism. So when, and why, did the shift to the left occur?

March 25, 2014