Articles http://www.thenation.com/articles/155 en If Black Lives Mattered… http://www.thenation.com/article/193169/if-black-lives-mattered%E2%80%A6 <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br /><p>Valuing all lives equally would transform how we respond to the climate crisis.</p> Climate Change Ferguson Racism and Discrimination Column Tue, 16 Dec 2014 23:32:28 +0000 Naomi Klein 193169 at http://www.thenation.com Torture's Dirty Secret: It Works http://www.thenation.com/article/tortures-dirty-secret-it-works <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br /><p>When it comes to social control, nothing works quite like torture.</p> Column Law Society Tue, 09 Dec 2014 18:28:40 +0000 Naomi Klein 5523 at http://www.thenation.com 4 Reasons Keystone Really Matters http://www.thenation.com/article/191417/4-reasons-keystone-really-matters <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br /><p>Pipeline apologists tell us the president&rsquo;s decision isn&rsquo;t that important for the climate&mdash;the dirty oil will flow anyway. Here&rsquo;s why they&rsquo;re wrong.</p> Column Environment Tue, 25 Nov 2014 18:05:07 +0000 Naomi Klein 191417 at http://www.thenation.com Time for Big Green to Go Fossil Free http://www.thenation.com/article/174143/time-big-green-go-fossil-free <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br /><p>Some mainstream environmental organizations are trying to wean themselves from fossil fuel investments&mdash;but some aren&rsquo;t.</p> Column Environmental Activism Environment Wed, 01 May 2013 16:25:46 +0000 Naomi Klein 174143 at http://www.thenation.com Daylight Robbery, Meet Nighttime Robbery http://www.thenation.com/article/162956/daylight-robbery-meet-nighttime-robbery <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br /><p>The UK rioters know full well that their elites are looters too.</p> Banking Predatory Lending Class Column Economic Policy World Wed, 24 Aug 2011 17:46:59 +0000 Naomi Klein 162956 at http://www.thenation.com A New Climate Movement in Bolivia http://www.thenation.com/article/new-climate-movement-bolivia <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br /><p>At Bolivia's climate summit, the prevailing sentiment was rage against helplessness.</p> Environmental Issues Column Environmental Activism World Thu, 22 Apr 2010 20:58:48 +0000 Naomi Klein 33547 at http://www.thenation.com Haiti: A Creditor, Not a Debtor http://www.thenation.com/article/haiti-creditor-not-debtor <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br /><p>It is we in the West who owe it reparations.</p><p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/haiti-creditor-not-debtor" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column Regions and Countries Thu, 11 Feb 2010 16:51:50 +0000 Naomi Klein 14645 at http://www.thenation.com The Courage to Say No http://www.thenation.com/article/courage-say-no <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />The G-8 powers are willing to do just about anything to get a deal in Copenhagen. But the urgency doesn't come from a desire to stop climate change.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/courage-say-no" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Climate Change Social Justice Column Environmental Activism Wed, 16 Dec 2009 22:47:53 +0000 Naomi Klein 14457 at http://www.thenation.com Copenhagen: Seattle Grows Up http://www.thenation.com/article/copenhagen-seattle-grows <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />In Copenhagen, activists won't just say no--they will aggressively advance solutions that reduce emissions and narrow inequity.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/copenhagen-seattle-grows" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Movements Column Global Justice Movement Globalization Wed, 11 Nov 2009 23:05:53 +0000 Naomi Klein 14320 at http://www.thenation.com Obama's Bad Influence http://www.thenation.com/article/obamas-bad-influence <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Just because the United States is trying to be a global team player again doesn't mean the game gets better rules.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/obamas-bad-influence" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Barack Obama Column Wed, 14 Oct 2009 21:44:39 +0000 Naomi Klein 14172 at http://www.thenation.com The Tel Aviv Party Stops Here http://www.thenation.com/article/tel-aviv-party-stops-here <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />The glittering "spotlight" at a Toronto film festival is a reflection of Israel's desire to avoid scrutiny for its actions in Gaza.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/tel-aviv-party-stops-here" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column Film Regions and Countries Wed, 09 Sep 2009 23:27:58 +0000 Naomi Klein 14020 at http://www.thenation.com A Lexicon of Disappointment http://www.thenation.com/article/lexicon-disappointment <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />All is not well in Obamafanland, as disenchanted supporters entertain the possibility that he is not, in fact, going to save the world.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/lexicon-disappointment" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column The Left Politics Wed, 15 Apr 2009 22:32:43 +0000 Naomi Klein 13381 at http://www.thenation.com All of Them Must Go http://www.thenation.com/article/all-them-must-go <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />As cities around the world are rocked with protests, it's clear governments that respond to economic crisis with the discredited free-market agenda will not survive.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/all-them-must-go" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column Economy Wed, 04 Feb 2009 23:20:13 +0000 Naomi Klein 12991 at http://www.thenation.com Israel: Boycott, Divest, Sanction http://www.thenation.com/article/israel-boycott-divest-sanction <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />To end the bloody occupation, Israel must be the target of the same kind of global movement that finally ended apartheid in South Africa.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/israel-boycott-divest-sanction" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column Regions and Countries Thu, 08 Jan 2009 00:51:56 +0000 Naomi Klein 12850 at http://www.thenation.com In Praise of a Rocky Transition http://www.thenation.com/article/praise-rocky-transition <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Every sweetheart deal the Bush administration makes threatens to hobble Obama's ability to deliver on his promise of change.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/praise-rocky-transition" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column Executive Branch Economy Politics Thu, 13 Nov 2008 18:11:46 +0000 Naomi Klein 12539 at http://www.thenation.com The Bailout: Bush's Final Pillage http://www.thenation.com/article/bailout-bushs-final-pillage <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Brace yourself for a final, frantic stripping of public wealth as the Bush regime goes out the door.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/bailout-bushs-final-pillage" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Disaster Capitalism Column Economic Policy Economy Wed, 29 Oct 2008 21:43:59 +0000 Naomi Klein 9990 at http://www.thenation.com New Orleans: The City That Won't Be Ignored http://www.thenation.com/article/new-orleans-city-wont-be-ignored <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Hurricane Gustav should have been political rat poison for the GOP; instead, it became an argument for drilling.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/new-orleans-city-wont-be-ignored" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column Cities Convention 08 Politics Thu, 04 Sep 2008 00:51:02 +0000 Naomi Klein 9704 at http://www.thenation.com Disaster Capitalists Reap Profits http://www.thenation.com/article/disaster-capitalists-reap-profits <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />As the planet is rocked by multiple shocks, here's a look at how disaster capitalists are reaping the benefits--leveraging the Iraq War, the push for arctic drilling and the global food crisis.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/disaster-capitalists-reap-profits" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Disaster Capitalism Column Globalization Wed, 02 Jul 2008 01:38:44 +0000 Naomi Klein 9476 at http://www.thenation.com Obama's Chicago Boys http://www.thenation.com/article/obamas-chicago-boys <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Before Obama can transform the economy, he has some housecleaning to do.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/obamas-chicago-boys" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column Presidential Election 2008 Economy Politics Thu, 12 Jun 2008 16:37:07 +0000 Naomi Klein 9385 at http://www.thenation.com Regime-Quakes in Burma and China http://www.thenation.com/article/regime-quakes-burma-and-china <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Nothing terrifies a repressive regime more than a natural disaster.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/regime-quakes-burma-and-china" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Disaster Capitalism Column Regions and Countries Thu, 15 May 2008 17:13:30 +0000 Naomi Klein 9258 at http://www.thenation.com Obama, Being Called a Muslim Is Not a Smear http://www.thenation.com/article/obama-being-called-muslim-not-smear <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />He should denounce the attacks themselves as racist propaganda.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/obama-being-called-muslim-not-smear" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Barack Obama Disaster Capitalism Column Thu, 28 Feb 2008 18:19:27 +0000 Naomi Klein 8931 at http://www.thenation.com Disowned by the Ownership Society http://www.thenation.com/article/disowned-ownership-society <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Bush turns out to be the undertaker of the free market's false promises to ordinary Americans.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/disowned-ownership-society" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Banking Predatory Lending Column Economic Policy George W. Bush Thu, 31 Jan 2008 18:28:09 +0000 Naomi Klein 8817 at http://www.thenation.com Zapatista Code Red http://www.thenation.com/article/zapatista-code-red <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Ten years after the massacre of indigenous people in Chiapas, Zapatistas are reading signs that the Mexican government is poised for another wave of repression. <p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/zapatista-code-red" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Column Regions and Countries Thu, 20 Dec 2007 18:56:21 +0000 Naomi Klein 8668 at http://www.thenation.com Guns Beat Green: The Market Has Spoken http://www.thenation.com/article/guns-beat-green-market-has-spoken <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />If you're looking for a sure bet in the new growth market, sell solar and buy surveillance. Forget wind, buy weapons.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/guns-beat-green-market-has-spoken" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Disaster Capitalism Column Thu, 29 Nov 2007 18:30:44 +0000 Naomi Klein 8578 at http://www.thenation.com Rapture Rescue 911: Disaster Response for the Chosen http://www.thenation.com/article/rapture-rescue-911-disaster-response-chosen <a href="/authors/naomi-klein">Naomi Klein</a><br />Gone are the days of equal protection. Intense natural disasters like the California wildfires are being met with a new model: privatized disaster response.<p><a href="http://www.thenation.com/article/rapture-rescue-911-disaster-response-chosen" target="_blank">read more</a></p> Environmental Issues Disaster Capitalism Column Corporate Responsibility States Environment Politics Society Thu, 01 Nov 2007 18:27:27 +0000 Naomi Klein 8447 at http://www.thenation.com