Articles http://www.thenation.com/articles/326 en Run, Karen, Run! http://www.thenation.com/article/181822/run-karen-run <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>Chicago Teachers Union leader Karen Lewis is eyeing Mayor Emanuel&rsquo;s job.</p> City and County Level Campaigns and Elections US Politics Column Political Figures Wed, 01 Oct 2014 17:11:24 +0000 Gary Younge 181822 at http://www.thenation.com The Unbearable Whiteness of the American Left http://www.thenation.com/article/179507/unbearable-whiteness-american-left <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>From education to gun control, progressive movements need to do a better job empowering the people whose interests they claim to serve.</p> Racism and Discrimination Column Wed, 23 Apr 2014 17:44:39 +0000 Gary Younge 179507 at http://www.thenation.com Freelance Stop-and-Shoot http://www.thenation.com/article/178455/freelance-stop-and-shoot <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>The murder of Jordan Davis&mdash;like that of Renisha McBride, Trayvon Martin and so many others&mdash;reflects a racist culture in which the black body is considered fair game.</p> Editors Picks Racism and Discrimination Trayvon Martin Column Wed, 19 Feb 2014 19:15:54 +0000 Gary Younge 178455 at http://www.thenation.com South Africa Looks Back http://www.thenation.com/article/177643/south-africa-looks-back <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>The people celebrate the man and the revolutionary, while venting frustration with the path his party has taken.</p> Editors Picks Column World Leaders Wed, 18 Dec 2013 18:54:08 +0000 Gary Younge 177643 at http://www.thenation.com The Myth of the Child-Stealing Roma http://www.thenation.com/article/177147/myth-child-stealing-roma <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>Europe&rsquo;s panic is about race and class, not child abduction.</p> Racism and Discrimination Column Race and Religion Wed, 13 Nov 2013 19:10:59 +0000 Gary Younge 177147 at http://www.thenation.com Right-Wing Insurrection: Europe’s Cup of Tea http://www.thenation.com/article/176687/right-wing-insurrection-europes-cup-tea <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>It&rsquo;s not just here that the right has gone &ldquo;wacko&rdquo;&mdash;it isn&rsquo;t interested in governing effectively in Europe, either.&nbsp;</p> Column Regions and Countries Wed, 16 Oct 2013 16:58:19 +0000 Gary Younge 176687 at http://www.thenation.com George Zimmerman’s Way Is the American Way http://www.thenation.com/article/176230/george-zimmermans-way-american-way <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>Instead of focusing on the psychology of Trayvon Martin&rsquo;s killer, we should be examining the meaning of his actions.</p> Column Race and Religion Wed, 18 Sep 2013 15:49:06 +0000 Gary Younge 176230 at http://www.thenation.com Everyone Loves Mandela http://www.thenation.com/article/174884/everyone-loves-mandela <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>South Africans of all races have reason to celebrate the life of the country&rsquo;s first post-apartheid president.</p> Column Political Figures World Leaders Regions and Countries Wed, 19 Jun 2013 17:28:55 +0000 Gary Younge 174884 at http://www.thenation.com Globalization's Scapegoats http://www.thenation.com/article/174237/globalizations-scapegoats <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>The recent victories of the right-wing, anti-immigrant United Kingdom Independence Party says more about our scapegoats than about its long-term prospects.</p> Column Politics World Wed, 08 May 2013 18:21:17 +0000 Gary Younge 174237 at http://www.thenation.com Who Gets Blamed for Globalization? http://www.thenation.com/article/174236/who-gets-blamed-globalization <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>The recent victories of the right-wing, anti-immigrant United Kingdom Independence Party says more about our scapegoats than about its long-term prospects.</p> Column Regions and Countries Politics World Wed, 08 May 2013 17:29:25 +0000 Gary Younge 174236 at http://www.thenation.com How Did Margaret Thatcher Do It? http://www.thenation.com/article/173732/how-did-margaret-thatcher-do-it <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>In every way, her agenda opposed the interests of ordinary working people. How did she get so many of them to vote against their own economic interests again and again?</p> Column World Leaders Economic Policy Inequality Tue, 09 Apr 2013 17:46:59 +0000 Gary Younge 173732 at http://www.thenation.com Immigration Is Not a Domestic Issue http://www.thenation.com/article/172704/immigration-not-domestic-issue <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>Whatever reform passes in Washington, poverty in the global South will continue to drive migration.</p> Column Immigration Wed, 06 Feb 2013 17:52:05 +0000 Gary Younge 172704 at http://www.thenation.com Suffer the Children http://www.thenation.com/article/172073/suffer-children <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /> Column Guns and Gun Control Society Wed, 09 Jan 2013 01:03:15 +0000 Gary Younge 172073 at http://www.thenation.com The Irony of Right-Wing Secessionist Fantasies http://www.thenation.com/article/171505/irony-right-wing-secessionist-fantasies <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>Obama&rsquo;s re-election inspired residents of states like Louisiana and Alabama to push for independence from the rest of the country. They should be careful what they wish for.</p> Column States Conservatives and the American Right Election 2012 Globalization Wed, 28 Nov 2012 22:24:23 +0000 Gary Younge 171505 at http://www.thenation.com Where Elections End and Politics Begins http://www.thenation.com/article/170912/where-elections-end-and-politics-begins <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>The disaffection across the country goes way beyond an &ldquo;enthusiasm gap.&rdquo;</p> Column Election 2012 Tue, 30 Oct 2012 22:16:31 +0000 Gary Younge 170912 at http://www.thenation.com What Race Has to Do With It http://www.thenation.com/article/170337/what-race-has-do-it <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>This election has posed a challenge of self-control for Republicans raised on a diet of welfare queens and Willie Horton.</p> Racism and Discrimination Column Political Figures Election 2012 Wed, 03 Oct 2012 22:04:51 +0000 Gary Younge 170337 at http://www.thenation.com Behind the GOP's Diversity Display http://www.thenation.com/article/169746/behind-gops-diversity-display <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>&ldquo;Diversity&rdquo; today marks a shift from equal opportunities to photo opportunities; institutions look different but they operate in exactly the same way.</p> Column Conservatives and the American Right Election 2012 Race and Religion Wed, 05 Sep 2012 16:20:10 +0000 Gary Younge 169746 at http://www.thenation.com With Aurora, Another Mass Killing Shocks America. Why? http://www.thenation.com/article/169083/aurora-another-mass-killing-shocks-america-why <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>James Holmes&rsquo;s rampage was horrifying, but it was not unfathomable.</p> Column Guns and Gun Control Society Wed, 25 Jul 2012 22:13:23 +0000 Gary Younge 169083 at http://www.thenation.com Europe: Hotbed of Islamophobic Extremism http://www.thenation.com/article/168384/europe-hotbed-islamophobic-extremism <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>Europeans are not threatened by a Muslim minority. It's the other way round.</p> Racism and Discrimination Column World Thu, 14 Jun 2012 04:08:51 +0000 Gary Younge 168384 at http://www.thenation.com What Do We See in Obama? http://www.thenation.com/article/167344/what-do-we-see-obama <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>As in a Rorschach test, people see in him what they want to see. Why don&rsquo;t we look at his record?</p> Barack Obama Column Election 2012 Wed, 11 Apr 2012 20:20:40 +0000 Gary Younge 167344 at http://www.thenation.com Romney and Santorum: Two Faces of GOP Capitalism http://www.thenation.com/article/166810/romney-and-santorum-two-faces-gop-capitalism <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>There may be tension but there isn&rsquo;t a class war within the Republican Party, because they&rsquo;re all on the same side.</p> Class Column Conservatives and the American Right Election 2012 Wed, 14 Mar 2012 19:42:25 +0000 Gary Younge 166810 at http://www.thenation.com Replacing History With Fiction in Arizona http://www.thenation.com/article/166140/replacing-history-fiction-arizona <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>The authors of Arizona&rsquo;s new law want to collapse Latino identity into white American mythology.</p> Racism and Discrimination US Politics Column Wed, 08 Feb 2012 18:59:15 +0000 Gary Younge 166140 at http://www.thenation.com The GOP's Blatant Racism http://www.thenation.com/article/165576/gops-blatant-racism <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>From Newt Gingrich to Ron Paul, Republican presidential candidates have stopped speaking in code and embraced baldly racist rhetoric.</p> Editors Picks Racism and Discrimination Column World Wed, 11 Jan 2012 00:42:33 +0000 Gary Younge 165576 at http://www.thenation.com What's Race Got to Do With Herman Cain? http://www.thenation.com/article/165032/whats-race-got-do-herman-cain <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>His rise and fall are instructive about the way race, sex and class operate in presidential campaigns.</p> Column Conservatives and the American Right Race and Religion Presidential Campaigns and Elections Wed, 07 Dec 2011 19:51:45 +0000 Gary Younge 165032 at http://www.thenation.com How Greece Exposed Europe's Potemkin Democracy http://www.thenation.com/article/164498/how-greece-exposed-europes-potemkin-democracy <a href="/authors/gary-younge">Gary Younge</a><br /><p>It&rsquo;s not surprising that&nbsp; Greece&rsquo;s proposed referendum elicited such outrage. Europe doesn&rsquo;t work like that.</p> Economics Column World Wed, 09 Nov 2011 19:47:47 +0000 Gary Younge 164498 at http://www.thenation.com